Week 10 Update

At the Ultium 3 site we have 5 areas that are a part of our IPD construction process. IPD stands for Integrated project design. This means that as the project is started, drawings and plans for the end of the project are still in the design phase. We have 5 areas, 100, 200, 300, 400 and 500.l Area 100 is the most complete, all concrete is placed and not process equipment is being installed and drywall is being put up. Area 500 is the least complete. Grading and backfilling is still taking place and they are being prepped for concrete pours. Each on of these areas is treated as a separate project and has it’s own managers and foreman. Barton Malow has an Area champion that meets with the crews on site every morning to go over the plan of work and resolve any issues. This week two area champions were not there for Thursday and Friday. I was given the opportunity to take their place. This meant I went out onto site and coordinated work with the foreman and make sure everything was going to plan. It was a unique experience as I was notified of several issues and it was my job to find solutions to allow for better workflow. Many of these foreman have been in the industry for over 20 years and I’m sure its weird for them to put their faith in a 22 year old intern. I have worked hard this summer to create a lasting impressing and a good reputation. These guys put their faith in me and I was able to resolve or at least get a start on resolving all the problems that were presented to me.

Leave a comment