Week 10

I had a very short work week with not much to write about. I went on a family vacation last weekend until this past Wednesday. So I only came into the office on Thursday and Friday. They were pretty normal days, I helped write out basis cards which we send to our customers.

When farmers contract their grain through us, they need to call us when they want to set basis on the grain that they are planning on delivering. We try to make it simple for the farmers and for the truckers that they may employ so we write out the details of where the grain is scheduled to be delivered to, what the contract number of that transaction is, and how many bushels need to be delivered to fulfill the contract. As we get closer to harvest, more and more of our customers set basis and it can get pretty hectic in the office. That is why I am trying to help the team now and get these cards written out so they won’t have to worry about them when things start to ramp up around harvest time.

I finished the week off with a few hours of cold calling. Nothing really to write about here. I had a few good conversations and a few not so good ones. We’ll see what the next week will bring.

Leave a comment