Week 10

This week we continued with sweet corn harvest. We pick seven days a week rain or shine so we picked through a few rain storms this week. Corn is looking nice and we currently have lots of it. On Wednesday me and my boss drove out to Wisconsin to look at a flatbed truck we were interested in. We need to replace an old worn out flatbed with this nicer newer one to haul apples. After he decided to buy it we drove it home. We got back around Midnight. Since it was a hot rainy week I spent lots of my time inside doing work to our apple packing line. There are lots of moving parts and we cannot afford to break down mid season. Earlier this summer I expected all the wear items and ordered the needed parts. I spent most of my time putting the new parts on. This included bearings, bushings, chain, sprockets, gearboxes and electric motors. I also added a few things to the line. First I added a few large fans to get the apples dryer which would help with the wax finish. Second I added some shields on the sides of the belts to keep apples on the belts and not fall off the side.

Leave a comment