Week 1 of my internship

This is the first week of my internship. And this is actually my first official internship in a big company- Shirble Department Store. I am the only intern in the marketing department for this month. There was no formal orientation or training. On Monday 5/20/19, the manager brought me to different department and introduce the main role of them. And I had a about an hour meeting with the manager. She introduced the company background, the current situation, and my objectives as an internship (what she expected me to do ). I think I got an overall understanding of the company and it could fulfill my role as an internship. I did not do any actual work on my first day of work. But it the day 1 gave me a really impact of the company and I was looking for word to work there.

On day 2 and day 3 of this work ( I work 5 days a week), I have been exposed to many aspects of their operations and have developed a better understanding the marketing department. My main task of this week was get familiar with my supervisor and deal with some emails from foreign countries which need to be translated into Chinese. I have the advantage of studying abroad in US for more than 5 years. So they trust my English.

Nothing really interesting happed this week. But I feel excited to work there. All the colleagues are really nice and helpful. They love to teach me and share their experience with me. From this week’s work, I have a more comprehensive understanding of marketing. And I found that I am actually really interested in the marketing work.

Leave a comment