Week 3- Brandon Grizer

This week at my internship with GE Johnson, myself and my project team were finally mobilized in our office trailer on our job site. While there wasn’t much construction going on just yet, this gave us time to set up our trailers and do more forecasting and planning before construction activities begin to ramp up. As usual, I got to sit through our OAC, RFI, Scheduling, and VDC coordination meetings throughout this week and took our meeting notes for our RFI meeting. On Tuesday, we met at one of our company facilities where we had First Aid and CPR training for our entire project team. Aside from this, my main task for the week was completing and buttoning up my doors, frames, and hardware matrix that I started last week and completing the doors and frames submittals that were sent to us by one of our door suppliers. For this submittal, I was required to confirm the information I gathered with my DFH matrix to what was submitted by the subcontractor. If there were any deviations on our subcontractor’s submittal, I was to send in a change request to our design team via email and follow up with the subcontractor on any issues. Luckily, the submittals I received were mostly spot on with what information I had gathered and any small issues I was able to follow up with our door provider to get them fixed. This upcoming week, I will be doing some training in our 4D modeling and scheduling coordination as well as diving my head deeper into the actual project.

Leave a comment