Week 3 – Kylie Crandall

Over the course of week three at Michigan Farm Bureau, I feel like I have finally started to settle in. After spending the entirety of last week researching, this week I am beginning to set some of that research into motion. During week two, I did lots of research surrounding new membership opportunities for Michigan Farm Bureau members and did lots of brainstorming on new companies to partner with potentially. This week, I am taking that starting ground from last week and reaching out to these companies. Some examples of companies I have reached out to about partnerships include Duolingo, KOA, Modernistic, Shipt, and Michigan’s State Fair. I have had so much fun working on this project so far, as it allows me to be creative. This week I also had the opportunity to introduce myself to the entire Michigan Farm Bureau Board. From what I gathered, the topics being discussed during the meetings have revolved a lot around HPIA in dairy cattle and chickens, and how that is impacting Michigan Farmers. Attached below is a link to an article discussing the impact that this illness has on cows and humans, and how Michigan has the most cow herds in the Nation affected with this illness. The article also touches on the risk of drinking raw milk during this time, which I think is important to highlight as drinking raw milk has become a huge trend recently.
https://www.usatoday.com/story/news/health/2024/06/03/michigan-cow-herds-infected-bird-flu/73955332007/


Attached below is a link to a picture of my coworker/friend Helene and I in our cubicles at Michigan Farm Bureau. It has been so much fun sharing a space and being able to bounce ideas off of one another

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1joAWhlbjWr3KrpPV_EEbKrDDMD9yUmn6/view?usp=sharing

Leave a comment