Crop Production Services Week 7

This week was cut a day short for the Fourth of July weekend. I enjoyed my weekend by going Up North with my family. I appreciate that Crop Production Services is generous with giving time off for holidays.

During the week we finished up with the remaining anhydrous ammonia deliveries. Most of the week was spent returning empty tanks back to our Morenci, Michigan Crop Production Services branch. At this point, there is very little left to do. I will spend the majority of the rest of my internship doing maintenance related work. I’m hoping I will be sent out with some of the other interns to scout fields as that would give me a new experience and greater understanding of what Crop Production Services does as well as a stronger basis for a future in the agricultural industry.

I hope to find an internship next summer that is more focused on the business side of the agricultural industry. My biggest complaint about my current internship is that it is almost entirely physical labor and I am not exposed to the business side of the field very much at all. However, my internship does help lay a foundation for a future in the agricultural industry. I had a coworker who works in the office at the Morenci, Michigan Crop Production Services branch tell me that my job is a good place to start because most managers don’t have the on site experience that I am receiving. For that reason, I have a bit of a leg up on some of those who will be competing against me for a future career in agribusiness management.

My internship is winding down to an end for the summer. I cannot wait to begin my career in agribusiness. This internship has been a great experience and an excellent starting point.

 

Leave a Reply

