Minorities in Business

This week I learned a lot more about the company and it made me feel like I was included. It has been a challenge for me to gain confidence professionally because I am of the minority. In fact, I am a double minority being black and a female. My manager spoke about how much the company is changing and how there is a need for talent, but he also made light that there was the need for diverse talent. In addition to talks with him, I also had very meaningful interactions with someone I would consider a mentor who is a female supply chain manager. She worked her way up in the company and has not had any doubts. I was curious to know if she struggled to make her way, and she informed that she had to push her way to the top. Times are constantly changing and I am grateful. I advise everyone to create opportunities if the do not already exist!

Leave a Reply

