Sam’s Club Week 1

I am about to complete my first full week as a Management Intern at Sam’s Club. The first day on the job, I met with my general manager Shawn and he explained how this internship will be 100% what you make of it, and you will get what you put in. He encouraged me to get to know everybody and try to figure out different ways that I could contribute. Being a people person and a hard worker, I knew that fitting in wouldn’t be a problem. So far, in my three real work days, I have primarily helped out with the merchandising department of the store. Myself and fellow intern, Parker, contributed by building and setting up different displays of products in certain ‘hot’ areas of the Club to maximize revenue. We were also able to sit in on the companies meetings where we learned about where the Club was financially. Our Club is number one in the district in Membership Sales and revenue. We were able to look over different spreadsheets of sales and witness the importance of selling the Sam’s Plus Membership, as it contributes to 70% of the stores total profits. So far I have just gotten a very brief opportunity to observe the different operations that are simultaneously happening around me within this multi billion dollar company. In the coming weeks, I really want to make an effort to get some experience in the Marketing Department, as Marketing is something that I am very interested in. We were contacted during one of our financial meetings about a possible networking opportunity with a Women’s Fundraising Festival that is to take place a few weeks from now in South Lansing and it was discussed shortly before it was turned over to the Marketing people, and I would really like to hear what they think of the opportunity and I would also like to give my input. I am very excited to see what else I can learn over the next 9 weeks of this Internship program.

Leave a comment