Week 3 at CHS

This week has been a busy one at CHS. Now that it is getting warmer there is a lot more scouting to do. Cherry leaf spot was the big thing to watch out for this week. One thing that I’m learning when scouting is as soon as you see something you immediately start to see more of it. On Monday afternoon my sales rep sent me a picture of leaf spot because he had found some in another area. As soon as I saw that picture I focused in on it and started seeing it. Another thing that I am learning is that finding things in fields is bittersweet. I like finding it because its my job and it makes me feel like I’m doing a good job, but at the same time its bad because farmers don’t like hearing that you find stuff.

One thing that I like and don’t like about my job is the fact that I’m outside all day rain or shine. This week was nice because it was 75 and sunny every single day which makes my job way easier. Next week its supposed to be in the upper 80’s which is a little too hot for my liking but I’ll manage.

This week was the first week that I felt really confident about my ability to do my job. I didn’t have as many quesitons for my sales rep as last week and I was able to get to a lot of the farms without using my GPS. By the end of the summer I want to get to the point where I don’t need it at all to do my job. Right now I’m still a little to reliant on it.

Overall I’m really enjoying myself here at CHS and I am excited to see what the rest of the summer brings.

Leave a Reply

