GreenStone Week 3

This week, I spent a lot of my time catching up on keying financials. I fell a bit behind the other interns as I got a round of particularly difficult ones. Once I finished that up on Tuesday, I did some work on my intern project, the Peer Comparison. This is similar to keying financials, except I am taking financial information and putting into an Excel spreadsheet to look at client farms side by side. That was my focus for the rest of the week.

Thursday was a pretty exciting day. We had Commercial Lending Unit training for around three hours in the morning, which was about as fun as it sounds, but it is a necessary evil and I was able to learn a lot from it. In the afternoon, we went to the Lansing Lugnuts game. Everyone in the department cut loose a little bit and I was able to get to know my coworkers much better than before.

The game was also an excellent opportunity to give some feedback to my supervisor about how the internship has been going. I was able to tell him how I felt the other interns and I were kind of boxed off and not learning as much as we could be and suggest some ways that we could get out of our cubicles and learn from the credit analysts. I’m glad that I had the chance to do that, and I’m looking forward to learning more about what a credit analyst’s day looks like.

Leave a Reply

