Cargill Agriculture Supply Chain North America: Grain Origination Sales, Week 1

My first week at Cargill has been a doozy to say the least. My role in the company is to buy grain from farmers in my territory, but in order to do that I have to have a firm understanding of the futures market and what cash price is. Needless to say I have had to rapidly learn many things. I have received a good amount of training from people who have many years of experience in the industry which has been beneficial but there vast knowledge on the subject makes it difficult for them to “dumb” it down for me. This has resulted in me having to do a lot of studying outside of work so I could grasp the concept of what exactly we are supposed to be doing.

Essentially the personal goal I have right now is to be able to buy corn at a certain price and justify to my superiors why I made that buy. I am studying merchandising and reading a lot Vantrump reports so I can try and see the big picture of how grain origination works. This is a new challenge that I have never experienced before and it is also a new challenge for me to conquer. My internship last year was very fun but relatively easy. Now its is very hard but has the potential to be very rewarding.

Leave a Reply

