Week 4: SpartanNash

This was my fourth week at SpartanNash and I feel like I am really starting to settle into my role and understand how the merchandising function of our company operates. Similar to last week, the main project I have been working on is comparing ad markdown dollars from 2015 to 2016. Doing an apples to apples comparison such as this gives us an idea of where we need to be dollar wise on our ad spending. I also added another dimension to my project, which my supervisor appreciated, and that was looking at the projected units vs the actual units and understanding how we can become more accurate in our forecasting. So this project makes me feel important because the data that I am pulling from the database is actually being used to help in sales forecasting in our department, pressures on! But nonetheless this project is really helping me learn the business and how it operates. Today we also had our quarter one recap meeting with the category director and discussed our strength and weaknesses, overall the company is growing fast and doing very well.

Leave a Reply

