General Mills – Week 1

Wow. This has been a very overwhelming week. I moved into my apartment in Minneapolis, Minnesota last Friday and I have not been able to relax yet. First of all, I love General Mills. I believe that they are a very strong, well put together company that produces some of the best products and brands on the market. I am so thankful to be a part of this team and I am really looking forward to the challenges that await me. This week, I met the other interns, became situated with my work space and resources, and worked extremely hard. I can’t legally talk about my summer project due to private company information, but I am working on the Convenience and Food Service Sales Team. I absolutely love it. General Mills has a wonderful work environment and the saying “work hard and play hard” is definitely followed. The employees at General Mills are extremely motivated and passionate about what they do. They all live by the statement, “We serve the world by making food people love”. This is amazing because I feel like my personal brand: “McFeed The World” really fits with this company. After this week, I have met most of the interns, the sales team, participated in the Twins Baseball Event, and went to a quarry with the GMI Interns. It has been an amazing week but very overwhelming at times with all of the adjustments and work responsibilities. I am very excited to learn more about the company, meet new people, and find solutions for the sales team through my summer project. Unfortunately, I have not met my manager yet. She starts next week and I am really looking forward to connecting with her because she has a lot of experience in the field. The people at General Mills are really intelligent and are always willing to teach you and help out. Business has a completely different meaning when you are outside of school and are actually working for a company in the Food Industry. They really have been challenging me since day one. I really appreciate this because I know they only want to see you succeed. Overall, I had a very positive week and I am hoping to have a relaxing weekend so that I can be well prepared for the week to come.

 

CRM

Leave a Reply

