Week 10: Wrapping it all up.

So I’m on the home stretch and about to finish my internship with Saginaw Bay Farms as a crop consultant. I’ve come a long way from the girl who arrived here with no previous experience with cash crops. I came here with a purpose to challenge myself by going out of my comfort zone. I have only worked with fruit farms and this was a new eye-opening experience for me.

I learned so much about the industry and even found a new interest. I got the opportunity to learn about drones, GMOs, organic foods, and a plethora of information about crops in general. I am very thankful for the experience this internship has given me. I have a greater understanding of the Ag-industry, and developed a passion that will last a life time.

The best part of this internship was how friendly and open everyone at Saginaw Bay Farms was. I never felt like an “intern” and was valued as much as everyone else. I asked a lot of questions, because for the most part I was on my own every day. I enjoyed the independence but sometimes getting assistance was challenging because the only communication I had was with my phone. At times I was frustrated with the communication lags but other than that I enjoyed being self-sufficient.

I also want to take a moment and thank the College of Agriculture at MSU because I wouldn’t even be writing this blog without it, and the help of career fairs. I don’t think I could have gotten this opportunity on my own.

Overall, this internship has changed my life for the better. This fall, I am beyond ecstatic to return to MSU to continue working toward my Agribusiness Management degree and possibly minor in Agronomy. I didn’t realize how much I enjoyed working outside with the plants until this internship.

Leave a Reply

