Week 3: Kroger

My third week with Kroger is taking place in one of the stores in the Okemos area. I am learning more about the store-level human resource and overall efficiency problems the company has been having. No one seems motivated in the store, and it has been proving a challenge to work with. I find myself getting frustrated, in part because I like getting my jobs done when I am assigned them with a positive attitude. This next week will be my last in the meat and seafood department within the store and then following I will be shadowing management. It’ll be interesting to see how problems associates versus management staff have with the company. I’m hoping to learn a little more under management shadowing. These next few days I will be trying to learn how to place/plan orders for different departments and work with the logistical side of the company. Currently, the warehouse in Ohio has been running about 18 hours behind schedule, so it’s causing a lot of problems for the stores in Michigan. So it would be interesting to see that aspect of things.

Leave a Reply

